2019-2020 Academic Catalog 
  
    Nov 13, 2019  
2019-2020 Academic Catalog

Academic Calendar


 

*Dates are subject to change.

Fall 2019

August 26 - December 13


Virtual Session 1: August 26 - October 18
Virtual Session 2: October 21 - December 13

August 26, 2019 Monday Semester Begins (Fall Semester, Virtual Session 1);
    Settlement of semester charges due by midnight; 
    Summer Session grades are due 
August 27, 2019 Tuesday Convocation
August 29, 2019 Thursday Last day to Add/Drop classes for Virtual Session 1
August 30, 2019 Friday 90% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 1 
     
September 2, 2019 Monday CIU Closed for Labor Day 
September 4, 2019 Wednesday Last day to Add/Drop classes for Fall Semester;
    Last day to apply for Fall Graduation without late fee
September 6, 2019 Friday 90% Refund period ends for Fall Semester;
    50% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 1 
September 13, 2019 Friday 50% Refund period ends for Fall Semester
    20% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 1 
September 18, 2019 Wednesday Prayer Day
September 20, 2019 Friday Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Virtual Session 1
     
October 2, 2019 Wednesday 20% Refund period ends for Fall Semester
October 17-18, 2019  Thursday-Friday Fall Break for Residential Students
October 18, 2019 Friday Virtual Session 1 Ends; 
    Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Fall Semester
October 21, 2019 Monday Virtual Session 2 Begins;
    Settlement of semester charges due by midnight;
    Last day to apply for Fall Graduation
October 24, 2019 Thursday Last day to Add/Drop classes for Virtual Session 2
October 25, 2019 Friday Virtual Session 1 grades are due
    90% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 2
October 29, 2019 Tuesday Prayer Day
October 31, 2019 Thursday 50% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 2 
     
November 1 - 2, 2019 Friday-Saturday Homecoming
November 7, 2019 Thursday 20% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 2 
November 15, 2019 Friday Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Virtual Session 2
November 19, 2019 Tuesday Prayer Day
November 27 - 29, 2019 Wednesday-Friday Thanksgiving Break; CIU Closed Thursday and Friday
     
December 13, 2019 Friday Semester Ends (Fall Semester, Virtual Session 2);
    Commencement Ceremony
December 20, 2019 Friday Virtual Session 2 and Fall Grades Due
December 24, 2019 - January 1, 2020 Tuesday-Wednesday CIU Closed for Christmas and the New Year

Spring 2020

January 13 - May 1

Virtual Session 1: January 13 - March 6

Virtual Session 2: March 9 - May 1

January 13, 2020 Monday Semester Begins (Spring Semester, Virtual Session 1);
    Settlement of semester charges due by midnight
January 16, 2020 Thursday Last day to Add/Drop classes for Virtual Session 1
January 17, 2020 Friday Last day to receive a 90% refund for Virtual Session 1
January 20, 2020 Monday CIU Closed for Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
January 22, 2020 Tuesday Last day to Add/Drop classes for Spring Semester; 
    Last day to apply for Spring Graduation without late fee
January 24, 2020 Friday 90% Refund period ends for Spring Semester;
    50% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 1
January 29, 2020 Wednesday Prayer Day
January 31, 2020 Friday 50% Refund period ends for Spring Semester;
    20% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 1 
     
February 7, 2020 Friday Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Virtual Session 1
February 20, 2020 Thursday 20% Refund period ends for Spring Semester
     
March 5, 2020 Thursday Prayer Day
March 6, 2020 Friday Virtual Session 1 Ends;
    Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Spring Semester
March 8, 2020 Monday Virtual Session 2 Begins;
    Settlement of semester charges due by midnight;
    Last day to apply for Spring Graduation
March 9 - 13, 2020 Monday-Friday Spring Break for Residential Students
March 11, 2020 Thursday Last day to Add/Drop classes for Virtual Session 2
March 12, 2020 Friday Virtual Session 1 grades due;
    Last day to receive a 90% refund for Virtual Session 2
March 18, 2020 Thursday 50% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 2
March 23, 2020 Tuesday Registration Opens for Academic Year 2020 - 2021
March 25, 2020 Thursday 20% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 2
March 31, 2020 Tuesday Prayer Day
     
April 3, 2020 Friday Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Virtual Session 2
April 10, 2020 Friday Good Friday! CIU Closed
     
April 30, 2020 Friday Semester Ends (Spring Semester, Virtual Session 2)
May 2, 2020 Saturday Commencement Ceremonies
May 8, 2020 Friday Virtual Session 2 and Spring Grades Due

Summer 2020

May 4 - August 21

Virtual Session 1: May 4 - June 26

Virtual Session 2: June 26 - August 21

May 4, 2020 Monday Semester Begins (Summer Semester, Virtual Session 1)
    Settlement of semester charges due by midnight
May 7, 2020 Thursday Last day to Add/Drop for Virtual Session 1
May 8, 2020 Friday 90% Refund Ends for Virtual Session 1
May 11, 2020 Monday 90% Refund Ends for Summer Semester*
May 13, 2020 Wednesday Last day to Add/Drop for Full-term Summer Semester*;
    Last day to apply for Summer Graduation without late fee
May 14, 2020 Thursday 50% Refund Ends for Virtual Session 1
May 18, 2020 Monday 50% Refund Ends for Summer Semester*
May 21, 2020 Thursday 20% Refund Ends for Virtual Session 1 
May 25, 2020 Monday CIU Closed for Memorial Day
May 29, 2020 Friday Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Virtual Session 1
     
June 5, 2020 Friday 20% Refund Ends for Summer Semester* 
June 26, 2020 Friday Virtual Session 1 Ends;
    Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Summer Semester
June 29, 2020 Monday Virtual Session 2 Begins;
    Settlement of semester charges due by midnight;
    Last day to apply for Summer Graduation
July 3, 2020 Friday CIU Closed, Independence Day!
July 6, 2020 Monday  Last day to Add/Drop for Virtual Session 2;
    Virtual Session 1 grades due
July 7, 2020 Tuesday 90% Refund Ends for Virtual Session 2
July 13, 2020 Monday 50% Refund Ends for Virtual Session 2
July 20, 2020 Monday 20% Refund Ends for Virtual Session 2
July 24, 2020 Friday Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Virtual Session 2
     
August 21, 2020 Friday Semester Ends (Summer Semester, Virtual Session 2);
    Summer Graduation (no ceremony)
August 28, 2020 Friday Virtual Session 2 and Summer grades are due

*One-week Intensive:
Add/Drop and refund period ends at 11:59 pm on the first day of class.
To withdraw and receive a grade of “W” the student must withdraw by 11:59 pm on the second day of class.


*Two-week Intensive:
Add/Drop and refund period ends at 11:59 pm on the second day of class.
To withdraw and receive a grade of “W” the student must withdraw by 11:59 pm on the third day of class.

For non-standard Academic Calendars see our Online Cohort Schedules.

For a visual calendar of all programs see our Visual Academic Calendar.