2021-2022 Academic Catalog 
    
    Jun 23, 2021  
2021-2022 Academic Catalog

Academic Calendar


 

*Dates are subject to change.

Fall 2021

Full-Term: August 23 - December 10
Virtual Session 1: August 23 - October 15
Virtual Session 2: October 18 - December 10

 

August 23, 2021 Monday Semester Begins (Fall Semester, Virtual Session 1);
    Settlement of semester charges due by midnight; 
    Summer Session grades are due
August 26, 2021 Thursday Convocation;
    Last day to Add/Drop classes for Virtual Session 1
August 27, 2021 Friday 90% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 1
August 30, 2021 Monday Last day to Add/Drop classes for Fall Semester;
    Last day to apply for Fall Graduation without late fee
     
September 1, 2021 Wednesday 90% Refund period ends for Fall Semester
September 2, 2021 Thursday 50% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 1
September 6, 2021 Monday CIU Closed for Labor Day
September 9, 2021 Thursday 50% Refund period ends for Fall Semester
September 10, 2021 Friday 20% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 1 
September 17, 2021 Friday Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Virtual Session 1
September 22, 2021 Wednesday Prayer Day
September 28, 2021 Tuesday 20% Refund period ends for Fall Semester
     
October 14 - 15, 2021 Thursday - Friday Fall Break for Residential Students
October 15, 2021 Friday Virtual Session 1 Ends;
    Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Fall Semester
October 18, 2021 Monday Virtual Session 2 Begins;
    Settlement of semester charges due by midnight;
    Last day to apply for Fall Graduation
October 21, 2021 Thursday Last day to apply to Add/Drop classes for Virtual Session 2
October 22, 2021 Friday Virtual Session 1 grades are due;
    90% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 2
October 26, 2021 Tuesday Prayer Day
October 28, 2021 Thursday 50% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 2
     
November 4, 2021 Thursday 20% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 2
November 5 - 6, 2021 Friday - Saturday Homecoming
November 9, 2021 Tuesday Prayer Day
November 12, 2021 Friday Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Virtual Session 2
November 24 - 26, 2021 Wednesday - Friday Thanksgiving Break; CIU Closed Thursday and Friday
     
December 10, 2021 Friday Semester Ends (Fall Semester, Virtual Session 2); 
    Fall Graduation and Commencement ceremony
December 17, 2021 Friday Virtual Session 2 and Fall Grades Due
December 22 - 31, 2021 Wednesday - Friday CIU Closed for Christmas and the New Year

 

Spring 2022

Full-Term: January 10 - April 29
Virtual Session 1: January 10 - March 4
Virtual Session 2: March 7 - April 29

 

January 10, 2022 Monday Semester Begins (Spring Semester, Virtual Session 1);
    Settlement of semester charges due by midnight
January 13, 2022 Thursday Last day to Add/Drop classes for Virtual Session 1
January 14, 2022 Friday Last day to receive a 90% refund for Virtual Session 1
January 17, 2022 Monday CIU Closed for Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
January 18, 2022 Tuesday Last day to Add/Drop classes for Spring Semester; 
    Last day to apply for Spring Graduation without late fee
January 20, 2022 Thursday 90% Refund period ends for Spring Semester
January 21, 2022 Friday 50% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 1
January 26, 2022 Wednesday Prayer Day
January 27, 2022 Thursday 50% Refund period ends for Spring Semester
January 28, 2022 Friday 20% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 1 
     
February 4, 2022 Friday Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Virtual Session 1
February 15, 2022 Tuesday 20% Refund period ends for Spring Semester
February 24, 2022 Thursday Prayer Day
     
March 4, 2022 Friday Virtual Session 1 Ends;
    Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Spring Semester
March 7, 2022 Monday Virtual Session 2 Begins;
    Settlement of semester charges due by midnight;
    Last day to apply for Spring Graduation
March 7 - 11, 2022 Monday - Friday Spring Break for Residential Students
March 10, 2022 Thursday Last day to Add/Drop classes for Virtual Session 2
March 11, 2022 Friday Virtual Session 1 grades due;
    Last day to receive a 90% refund for Virtual Session 2
March 17, 2022 Thursday 50% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 2
March 23, 2022 Monday Registration Opens for Academic Year 2022 - 2023
March 24, 2022 Thursday 20% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 2
March 29, 2022 Tuesday Prayer Day
     
April 1, 2022 Friday Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Virtual Session 2
April 15, 2022 Friday Good Friday! CIU Closed
April 29, 2022 Friday Semester Ends (Spring Semester, Virtual Session 2)
April 30, 2022 Saturday Commencement Ceremonies
     
May 6, 2022 Friday Virtual Session 2 and Spring Grades Due

 

Summer 2022

Full-Term: May 2 - August 19
Virtual Session 1: May 2 - June 24
Virtual Session 2: June 27 - August 19

 

May 2, 2022 Monday Semester Begins (Summer Semester, Virtual Session 1);
    Settlement of semester charges due by midnight
May 5, 2022 Thursday Last day to Add/Drop for Virtual Session 1;
    90% Refund Ends for Virtual Session 1
May 9, 2022 Monday Last day to Add/Drop for the Full-term Summer Semester*;
    Last day to apply for Summer Graduation without late fee
May 11, 2022 Wednesday 90% Refund Ends for Summer Semester*
May 12, 2022 Thursday 50% Refund Ends for Virtual Session 1
May 18, 2022 Wednesday 50% Refund Ends for Summer Semester*
May 19, 2022 Thursday 20% Refund Ends for Virtual Session 1 
May 27, 2022 Friday Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Virtual Session 1
May 30, 2022 Monday CIU Closed for Memorial Day
     
June 7, 2022 Tuesday 20% Refund Ends for Summer Semester* 
June 24, 2022 Friday Virtual Session 1 Ends;
    Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Summer Semester
June 27, 2022 Monday Virtual Session 2 Begins;
    Settlement of semester charges due by midnight;
    Last day to apply for Summer Graduation
June 30, 2022 Thursday Last day Add/Drop for Virtual Session 2
     
July 1, 2022 Friday Virtual Session 1 grades due;
    90% Refund Ends for Virtual Session 2
July 4, 2022 Monday CIU closed, Independence Day!
July 8, 2022 Friday 50% Refund Ends for Virtual Session 2
July 15, 2022 Friday 20% Refund Ends for Virtual Session 2
July 22, 2022 Friday Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Virtual Session 2
     
August 19, 2022 Friday Semester Ends (Summer Semester, Virtual Session 2);
    Summer Graduation (no ceremony)
August 26, 2022 Friday Virtual Session 2 and Summer grades are due

 

*One-week Intensive:
Add/Drop and refund period ends at 11:59 pm on the first day of class.
To withdraw and receive a grade of “W” the student must withdraw by 11:59 pm on the second day of class.


*Two-week Intensive:
Add/Drop and refund period ends at 11:59 pm on the second day of class.
To withdraw and receive a grade of “W” the student must withdraw by 11:59 pm on the third day of class.

 

For non-standard Academic Calendars see our Online Cohort Schedules.

For a visual calendar of all programs see our Visual Academic Calendar.