2022-2023 Academic Catalog 
    
    Aug 11, 2022  
2022-2023 Academic Catalog

Academic Calendar


 

*Dates are subject to change.

Fall 2022

Full-Term: August 22 - December 9
Virtual Session 1: August 22 - October 14
Virtual Session 2: October 17 - December 9

 

August 22, 2022 Monday Semester Begins (Fall Semester, Virtual Session 1);
    Settlement of semester charges due by midnight; 
    Summer Session grades are due
August 25, 2022 Thursday Convocation;
    Last day to Add/Drop classes for Virtual Session 1
August 26, 2022 Friday 90% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 1
August 29, 2022 Monday Last day to Add/Drop classes for Fall Semester;
    Last day to apply for Fall Graduation without late fee
     
August 31, 2022 Wednesday 90% Refund period ends for Fall Semester
September 1, 2022 Thursday 50% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 1
September 5, 2022 Monday CIU Closed for Labor Day
September 8, 2022 Thursday 50% Refund period ends for Fall Semester
September 9, 2022 Friday 20% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 1 
September 16, 2022 Friday Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Virtual Session 1
September 21, 2022 Wednesday Prayer Day
September 27, 2022 Tuesday 20% Refund period ends for Fall Semester
     
October 13 - 14, 2022 Thursday - Friday Fall Break for Residential Students
October 14, 2022 Friday Virtual Session 1 Ends;
    Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Fall Semester
October 17, 2022 Monday Virtual Session 2 Begins;
    Settlement of semester charges due by midnight;
    Last day to apply for Fall Graduation
October 20, 2022 Thursday Last day to apply to Add/Drop classes for Virtual Session 2
October 21, 2022 Friday Virtual Session 1 grades are due;
    90% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 2
October 25, 2022 Tuesday Prayer Day
October 27, 2022 Thursday 50% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 2
     
November 3, 2022 Thursday 20% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 2
November 4 - 5, 2022 Friday - Saturday Homecoming
November 8, 2022 Tuesday Prayer Day
November 11, 2022 Friday Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Virtual Session 2
November 23 - 25, 2022 Wednesday - Friday Thanksgiving Break; CIU Closed Thursday and Friday
     
December 9, 2022 Friday Semester Ends (Fall Semester, Virtual Session 2); 
    Fall Graduation and Commencement ceremony
December 16, 2022 Friday Virtual Session 2 and Fall Grades Due
December 26 - 30, 2022 Monday - Friday CIU Closed for Christmas and the New Year

 

Spring 2023

Full-Term: January 16 - May 5
Virtual Session 1: January 16 - March 10
Virtual Session 2: March 13 - May 5

 

January 16, 2023 Monday CIU Closed for Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
    Semester Begins (Spring Semester, Virtual Session 1);
    Settlement of semester charges due by midnight
January 17, 2023 Tuesday First day of in person classes
January 19, 2023 Thursday Last day to Add/Drop classes for Virtual Session 1
January 20, 2023   Last day to receive a 90% refund for Virtual Session 1
January 23, 2023 Monday Last day to Add/Drop classes for Spring Semester; 
    Last day to apply for Spring Graduation without late fee
January 25, 2023 Wednesday 90% Refund period ends for Spring Semester
January 26, 2023 Thursday 50% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 1
January 31, 2023 Tuesday Prayer Day
     
February 1, 2023 Wednesday 50% Refund period ends for Spring Semester;
February 2, 2023 Thursday 20% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 1 
February 10, 2023 Friday Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Virtual Session 1
February 20, 2023 Monday 20% Refund period ends for Spring Semester
February 23, 2023 Thursday Prayer Day
     
March 6 - March 10, 2023 Monday - Friday Spring Break for Residential Students
March 10, 2023 Friday Virtual Session 1 Ends;
    Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Spring Semester
March 13, 2023 Monday Virtual Session 2 Begins;
    Settlement of semester charges due by midnight;
    Last day to apply for Spring Graduation
March 16, 2023 Thursday Last day to Add/Drop classes for Virtual Session 2
March 17, 2023 Friday Virtual Session 1 grades due;
    Last day to receive a 90% refund for Virtual Session 2
March 22, 2023 Wednesday Registration Opens for Academic Year 2023 - 2024
March 23, 2023 Thursday 50% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 2
    Prayer Day
March 30, 2023 Thursday 20% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 2
     
April 7, 2023 Friday Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Virtual Session 2
    Good Friday! CIU Closed
     
May 5, 2023 Friday Semester Ends (Spring Semester, Virtual Session 2)
    Spring Graduation Conferral (Ceremony on 6th)
May 6, 2023 Saturday Graduation Commencement Ceremonies
May 12, 2023   Virtual Session 2 and Spring Grades Due

Summer 2023

Full-Term: May 8 - August 25
Virtual Session 1: May 8 - June 30
Virtual Session 2: July 3 - August 25

 

May 8, 2023 Monday Semester Begins (Summer Semester, Virtual Session 1);
    Settlement of semester charges due by midnight
May 11, 2023 Thursday Last day to Add/Drop for Virtual Session 1;
May 12, 2023 Friday 90% Refund Ends for Virtual Session 1
May 15, 2023 Monday Last day to Add/Drop for Full-term Summer Semester*;
    Last day to apply for Summer Graduation without late fee
May 17, 2023 Wednesday 90% Refund Ends for Summer Semester*
May 18, 2023 Thursday 50% Refund Ends for Virtual Session 1
May 24, 2023 Wednesday 50% Refund Ends for Summer Semester*
May 25, 2023 Thursday 20% Refund Ends for Virtual Session 1 
May 29, 2023 Monday CIU Closed for Memorial Day
June 2, 2023 Friday Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Virtual Session 1
     
     
June 12, 2023 Monday 20% Refund Ends for Summer Semester* 
June 30, 2023 Friday Virtual Session 1 Ends;
    Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Summer Semester
July 3, 2023 Monday Virtual Session 2 Begins;
    Settlement of semester charges due by midnight;
    Last day to apply for Summer Graduation
July 4, 2023 Tuesday CIU Closed, Independence Day
July 6, 2023 Thursday Last day to Add/Drop for Virtual Session 2;
July 7, 2023 Friday 90% Refund Ends for Virtual Session 2
     
July 13, 2023 Thursday 50% Refund Ends for Virtual Session 2
July 20, 2023 Thursday 20% Refund Ends for Virtual Session 2
July 28, 2023 Friday Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Virtual Session 2
     
August 25, 2023 Friday Semester Ends (Summer Semester, Virtual Session 2);
    Summer Graduation Conferral (no ceremony)
September 1, 2023 Friday Virtual Session 2 and Summer grades are due

 

*One-week Intensive:
Add/Drop and refund period ends at 11:59 pm on the first day of class.
To withdraw and receive a grade of “W” the student must withdraw by 11:59 pm on the second day of class.


*Two-week Intensive:
Add/Drop and refund period ends at 11:59 pm on the second day of class.
To withdraw and receive a grade of “W” the student must withdraw by 11:59 pm on the third day of class.

 

For non-standard Academic Calendars see our Online Cohort Schedules.

For a visual calendar of all programs see our Visual Academic Calendar.