2023-2024 Academic Catalog 
    
    Jul 18, 2024  
2023-2024 Academic Catalog [ARCHIVE]

Academic Calendar


 

*Dates are subject to change.

Fall 2023

Full-Term: August 28 - December 15
Virtual Session 1: August 28 - October 20
Virtual Session 2: October 23 - December 15

 

August 28, 2023 Monday Semester Begins (Fall Semester, Virtual Session 1);
    Settlement of semester charges due by midnight; 
August 31, 2023 Thursday Convocation;
September 1, 2023 Friday Last day to Add/Drop classes for Virtual Session 1
    Summer Session grades are due
September 4, 2023 Monday Labor Day CIU Closed
September 5, 2023 Tuesday Last day to Add/Drop classes for Fall Semester;
    Last day to apply for Fall Graduation without late fee
September 8, 2023 Friday 50% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 1
September 12, 2023 Tuesday 50% Refund period ends for Fall semester
September 20, 2023 Wednesday Prayer Day
September 22, 2023 Friday Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Virtual Session 1
October 20, 2023 Friday Virtual Session 1 Ends;
    Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Fall Semester
    Last day to apply for Fall Graduation
October 19-20, 2023 Thurs - Fri Fall Break for Residential Students
October 23, 2023 Monday Virtual Session 2 Begins;
    Settlement of semester charges due by midnight;
October 24, 2023 Tuesday Prayer Day
October 27, 2023 Friday Last day to Add/Drop classes for Virtual Session 2
    Virtual Session 1 grades are due
November 3, 2023 Friday 50% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 2
November 3 - 4, 2023 Friday - Saturday Homecoming
November 14, 2023 Tuesday Prayer Day
November 17, 2023 Friday Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Virtual Session 2
November 22-24, 2023 Wed - Friday Thanksgiving Break; CIU Closed Thursday and Friday
December 15, 2023 Friday Semester Ends (Fall Semester, Virtual Session 2);
December 16, 2023 Saturday Commencement Ceremony
December 22, 20023 Friday Virtual Session 2 and Fall Grades Due
December 25-January 1, 2024 Mon - Monday CIU Closed for Christmas and the New Year

Spring 2024

Full-Term: January 15 - May 3
Virtual Session 1: January 15 - March 8
Virtual Session 2: March 11 - May 3

 

January 15, 2024 Monday Semester Begins (Spring Semester, Virtual Session 1);
    Settlement of semester charges due by midnight
    CIU Closed for MLK Day
January 16, 2024 Tuesday First day of in person classes
January 19, 2024 Friday Last day to Add/Drop classes for Virtual Session 1
January 22, 2024 Monday Last day to Add/Drop classes for Spring Semester;
    Last day to apply for Spring Graduation without late fee
January 24, 2024 Wednesday Prayer Day
January 26, 2024 Friday 50% Refund ends for Virtual Session 1
January 29, 2024 Monday 50% Refund ends for Spring Semester
February 9, 2024 Friday Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Virtual Session 1
February 29, 2024 Thursday Prayer Day
March 8, 2024 Friday Virtual Session 1 Ends;
    Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Spring Semester
    Last day to apply for Spring Graduation
March 11, 2024 Monday Virtual Session 2 Begins;
    Settlement of semester charges due by midnight;
March 11-15, 2024 Mon - Friday Spring Break for Residential Students
March 15, 2024 Friday Virtual Session 1 grades due;
    Last day to Add/Drop classes for Virtual Session 2
March 20, 2024 Wednesday Registration Opens for Academic Year 2024 - 2025
March 22, 2024 Friday 50% Refund period ends for Virtual Session 2
March 29, 2024 Friday Good Friday! CIU Closed
April 2, 2024 Tuesday Prayer Day
April 5, 2024 Friday Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Virtual Session 2
May 3, 2024 Friday Semester Ends (Spring Semester, Virtual Session 2)
May 4, 2024 Saturday Commencement Ceremonies

 

Summer 2024

Full-Term: May 6 - August 23
Virtual Session 1: May 6 - June 28
Virtual Session 2: July 1 - August 23

 

May 6, 2024 Monday Semester Begins (Summer Semester, Virtual Session 1);
    Settlement of semester charges due by midnight
May 10, 2024 Friday Last day to Add/Drop for Virtual Session 1;
    Virtual Session 2 and Spring Grades Due
May 13, 2024 Monday Last day to Add/Drop for Full-term Summer Semester*;
    Last day to apply for Summer Graduation without late fee
May 17, 2024 Friday 50% Refund Ends for Virtual Session 1
May 20, 2024 Monday 50% Refund Ends for Summer Semester*
May 27, 2024 Monday CIU Closed for Memorial Day
May 31, 2024 Friday Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Virtual Session 1
June 28, 2024 Friday Virtual Session 1 Ends;
    Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Summer Semester
    Last day to apply for Summer Graduation
July 1, 2024 Monday Virtual Session 2 Begins;
    Settlement of semester charges due by midnight;
July 4, 2024 Thursday CIU Closed, Independence Day!
July 5, 2024 Friday Last day to Add/Drop for Virtual Session 2;
    Virtual Session 1 grades due
July 12, 2024 Friday 50% Refund Ends for Virtual Session 2
July 26, 2024 Friday Last day to receive a grade of “W” for Virtual Session 2
August 23, 2024 Friday Semester Ends (Summer Semester, Virtual Session 2);
    Summer Graduation (no ceremony)
August 30, 2024 Friday Virtual Session 2 and Summer grades are due

 

*One-week Intensive:
Add/Drop and refund period ends at 11:59 pm on the first day of class.
To withdraw and receive a grade of “W” the student must withdraw by 11:59 pm on the second day of class.


*Two-week Intensive:
Add/Drop and refund period ends at 11:59 pm on the second day of class.
To withdraw and receive a grade of “W” the student must withdraw by 11:59 pm on the third day of class.

 

For non-standard Academic Calendars see our Online Cohort Schedules.

For a visual calendar of all programs see our Visual Academic Calendar.